Gymrat\’s Weblog

News from the world of muscle

TV: Reality-TV series about LA gym makes it’s debut

On Wednesday July 19 Work Out, a six-episode series detailing the weighty dramas and conflicts at an elite Beverly Hills gym debuted on Bravo. Starting Tuesday, July 25, WORK OUT will move to its regular timeslot at 9 pm (8 central). Quote from the episode guide on TV.com:

“Jackie Warner, owner of Sky Sport & Spa, is determined to be the best in the competitive fitness industry in Los Angeles. Jackie has pulled together an elite team of trainers to attract an A-list clientele to her exclusive gym. But tough bodies and strong personalities lead to conflict among the staff. And Jackie, already under pressure trying to run a successful business, gets more pressure from her tempestuous girlfriend, Mimi.”

If you missed an episode, AfterEllen.com has ambitious recaps of everything happening in episode 1, episode 2, episode 3, episode 4, episode 5, and episode 6 (season finale)

You can also download the show on iTunes: episode one (101) is free, and episode two (102), episode three (103) and episode 4 (104) can be downloaded for $1.99 each.

Lose weight with TV's toughest fitness guru!One fact that hasn’t (so far) come up on the show is that the (current?) co-owner of Sky Sport & Spa is none other than Jillian Michaels, trainer on “The Biggest Looser”:

“Sky Sport and Spa co-owner Jillian Michaels is best known as the strength trainer and life coach for the Red Team on NBC’s hit series “The Biggest Loser”. As a motivator and role model, Michaels has a unique connection with her audience that stems from her own personal journey for wellness.”

Jillian’s daily newsletter with weight-loss and fitness tips is one of the most grounded and motivating newsletter I’ve come across. Sign up, it’s free!

Entertainment journalist Lydia Marcus writes about the party Bravo had for the release of “Work Out” at I Candy Lounge in West Hollywood:

“I got to hang out a bit with the star of the party, Jackie, who was super-sweet and approachable — not the snarling, tough-ass trainer I’d expected after watching those promo spots. Jackie was attired head to toe in black, and wore a distressed racer back tank top, shorts and motorcycle boots. She emphatically noted that those boots weren’t just for show: Not only does she ride, but Harley Davidson recently gave her a $10,000 bike and will feature her in a print ad campaign.”

The high-profile blog “Livin’ La Vida Low-Carb” has Exclusive Bravo ‘Work Out’ Videos & Giveaways:

“As an EXCLUSIVE just for the readers of the “Livin’ La Vida Low-Carb” blog, Bravo has offered two videos clips featuring exercise advice from two of the trainers appearing on “Work Out.” As promised last week, I have some exclusive limited edition “Work Out” merchandise to give away to THREE LUCKY WINNERS this week!”

Not one to mince words, TC Luoma of Testosterone Nation, goes head on with the type of personal trainers he sees on “Work Out” in an article called ‘Kill the Personal Trainers!‘. TC mentions that he once was a (bad) personal trainer himself, but that he evolved by continuing to read and learn:

“But that’s where I was different. Most personal trainers today, once they get their joke of a certificate from some lame organization, don’t read anything outside Muscle and Fitness. They remain lame brains. They remain sucky!

They don’t chart their clients’ progress. The workouts are entirely arbitrary. They spend most of the time working their clients’ freaking core when their clients would be better off learning how to squat.”

Jackie Warner has been profiled several times before for the series debut, here are a few interviews and profiles:

AfterEllen.com: The Sky’s the Limit for Jackie Warner:
“The star of Bravo’s Work Out discusses fitness, her girlfriend, Mimi, and why being gay has helped her succeed.”

The Advocate: Power lesbian:
“Jackie Warner, owner of Beverly Hills gym Sky Sport and Spa, is blazing trails as the out lesbian star of Work Out, Bravo’s hot new reality show.”

The New York Times: Sex and the Gym: ‘Work Out’ and the Gaying of Bravo: [Requires login]
“Personal trainers are the new dental hygienists: health professionals who prattle on about how they spent their weekend while their clients are under physical duress and most vulnerable.”

AfterElton.com interviews the senior personal trainer at Sky Sport & Spa, Doug Blasdell (one of the more grounded persons on the show), in an article called “Work Out’s Openly Gay Role Model“:

“At forty-three years of age, Doug Blasdell may be the oldest trainer working at Sky Sport and Spa, the setting of Bravo’s latest entry into the reality show sweeps, but it’s the younger trainers who work to keep up with him. AfterElton.com recently had the opportunity to talk with him about the kind of role model he wants to be, the sexual tension permeating the gym, and which trainer got fired from the show. “

Another personal trainer at Sky Sport & Spa, Brian Peeler, is profiled by a local newspaper:

Charlotte.com: Salisbury native competes with other trainers in ‘Work Out’:
“Salisbury native Brian Peeler is one of seven personal trainers vying to be the best at the Sky Sport and Spa in Beverly Hills, Calif. The trainers were chosen from around the country to work for Jackie Warner, the whip-cracking spa owner and trainer whose life is being documented on Bravo’s new show “Work Out.”

Reality-TV series about LA gym makes it debut

July 22, 2006 - Posted by | Personal Training, TV

19 Comments »

  1. Jackie is pissed because she has no balls, the world is not ready for this.

    Comment by Chris | August 3, 2006 | Reply

  2. I think Jackie is very sexy. Mimi better hold on to her, otherwise there will be another woman in line waiting to show her some love. Its definitely a good show.

    Comment by Heather | August 10, 2006 | Reply

  3. Calling Jackie “Strong self actualized woman”
    must have been made By confused people.

    If this show is for real and her behavior is NOT Acted from a script then at least one person is confusing so fatual terms

    Being a Bully is being confused with strength – all that power moves on her employees embarasing a trainer on the floor of the gym (Claiming that abs. contraction durinmg triceps pusahdowns will make that the client have 6packs of chisles abs was sucha power move that lack base in any factual exercise physiology, it was a power move to show that poor southern trainer who’ dick is bigger

    Bad business move very unprofessional from that Jackie
    I guess if you have the looks in LA anything will do for a brain.

    The main charchter – IE Jackie and her “PARTNER” Mimi
    portray emotional maturity and relationship Savy that you can be expected from 11yr. old not from a middle aged Self Employed professional.

    The only benefit of the doubt I can give is that it is all sacripted .

    Had I behaved like this to my clients I’ll be without business, period, no discussions

    the lack of respect her employees show to their work place in her absence speaks volume about her hiring screening process

    the portray very low level of professionalism and high level of narcisism lack of personal respect to themselves and to there work place (ZEN, complains alot while bringing a DOG to work with clients and NOT CUTTING slack to the Frienbd left in charge

    Top Personal training Gym?

    Only if it is the only one in the world

    Comment by Asher M. Sharon | August 10, 2006 | Reply

  4. Jackie, I love your show. I am interested in finding out how my husband and myself can train w/ you. I even watch your reruns over and over. sincerely,denise magaziner http://www.magazinerproperties.com

    Comment by denise magaziner | August 19, 2006 | Reply

  5. Am interested in finding out more about Jackie’s line of workout clothes. And they be found where? Hey guys, it’s a TV show.

    Comment by Andi | August 23, 2006 | Reply

  6. Dude, I’d hardly call Doug grounded or a good role model. Steroids don’t represent anything we need to perpetuate.

    Comment by HexGrum | August 25, 2006 | Reply

  7. I think that the show is EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!! By far the best reality television show that I have seen in a long time. I love all the Drama I think Jackie was really interesting and cool! She has a great body and is just a strong woman trying to make it in a male dominated business world. I just hope that they come back for sesion 2. I will watch along with all the millions of other Jackie Warner Fans:)

    Bella

    Comment by Bella | August 28, 2006 | Reply

  8. I thought the series was fantastic. It inspired me to have a healthier lifestyle and to get back in the gym to lose weight. It was great to see a realistic show; the portrayal was real and sincere. I wish Jackie and Mimi the best. Come back for season 2.

    Comment by Camille | September 10, 2006 | Reply

  9. I would like to buy jackie warners dvds series on bravo workout. Can you please tell me how to order them? Thank you laureen histed.

    Comment by Laureen Histed | September 27, 2006 | Reply

  10. Jackie, I love your show and after reading your bio I am even more impressed of you. I love your determination to be where you are today.
    Sharron

    Comment by sharron | October 15, 2006 | Reply

  11. Jackie, Jackie, Jackie ~ you are one hot woman not too mention entertaining! I love your show, after watching your show,it really inpired me to get off my tush and get back into the gym. I used to work out all the time until I fell in love. Now that I’m single, I NEED to get back my body. I swear to GOD if I was a lesbian, I would love to meet you!! Hell I would love to meet you anyways! I love your attitude, your goals, your achievements and character. You Rock girl!!! Love Dani Linn

    Comment by Dani Linn | January 12, 2007 | Reply

  12. jackie, is brian related to you?, does he have dirt on you?
    every and any real boxers / fighters that have heard him
    flap . are itchin to show him how little he knows. i guess
    it makes for good tv ,

    ps , i hope you dont get all botoxed& collegen, look at how many babes look like hell now. having lips that look like youve been punched in the mouth. [ by someone who actually
    knows how to snap a jab..] aint sexy babe..

    rocket.

    Comment by rocket. | February 22, 2007 | Reply

  13. I first just want to say that people like Asher M. Sharon in comment #3 have nothing better to do then use big words in big paragraphs to feel like there what the have to say matters. I think you have a great thing going and it has inspired a lot of people including myself. I’m only 20 years old and am now trying to become a personal trainer, but, not just because of you. See people like #3 don’t understand is that there’s to sides to everything. Although you gym is the best, your passion for life and your work is inspiring. So I just wanted to thank you.

    Comment by Mark Burns | March 22, 2007 | Reply

  14. In reference to comment 13, if the person who posted comment number 3 could have actually spelled any of the words they used or had been able to construct a sentence or punctuate correctly they might have been more effective. But, since #3 seems to possess all the gramatical savvy of a 5 year old, the point was completely lost and I spent about 5 minutes laughing at them.🙂

    I love WorkOut! I love the show, the trainers and especially Jackie. She is such an accomplished individual with tremendous charisma and business sense. I tried to order a shirt off her website, but they have been so overwhelemed by orders they are moving the “store” to another site. What does that tell you about Jackie’s busines sense?!! She has created a product EVERYONE wants to have! I commend Jackie for her vision and her passion, and am extremely impressed with her compassion toward those who are overweight. She displays nary a sign of “gym rat snobbery”. If I could stand living in California I would love to train at Jackie’s gym just to be around such a beautiful, vibrant, motivated, sexy woman. I’ll have to settle for my own gym and watching countless reruns of WorkOut on Bravo. Kudos Jackie! You are amazing!

    Comment by Sarah Flehmer | April 4, 2007 | Reply

  15. Hey #13 Thanks for your inspiring words.

    #14 – Since English is My 4th Language I am Sorry to offend you with my bad grammer, How is your German French and Hebrew, I am Sure I can laugh My Ass off when you try to express yourself in a 4th language SARAH (Such an Inappropraite name you are FAR from being a Regal Ruller..)

    Asher

    Comment by A. M Sharon | September 9, 2007 | Reply

  16. #3, A.M.Sharon…is absolutely right!

    I was, myself, telling people of the “core crunch” incident on the show. What she said had NO PHYSIOlOGICAL value! I was suprised someone else caught it! I’ve been a personal trainer for 20 years. And you don’t have to have business savy to be a success. She’s obiously manipulating and has connections. She’d be no where without. And if you want to condemn me for my gramar, I had a brain injury 4 years ago…I’m writing pretty well, all things considered. Most of you are just sheep. You’re so impressed with someone with a chip on her shoulder, that you can’t think for yourself anymore! And I’m gay. You couldn’t pay me to go out with Jackie! She’s like a dude…through and through. Walks like a dude, talks like a dude… No, I’m not jealous at her success. I just wish someone was successful because they earned it! Jillian Michaels of Biggest Loser is much more interesting! Cuter also. I’m not a fan of working out till you drop. It’s actually more effective to get on the treadmill and walk slowly for 45 minutes..you burn more fat. That’s a fact. But at least with Jillian, she practices what she preaches. She talks tough, but follows through. Jackie Warner is too busy looking at herself in the mirror(I don’t know why?) and tossing drinks back and forth at her girlfriend. What a pathetic show of childishness! A. Sharon was the only one on the site with his/her own mind! Watching Jackie is like watching a 5 year old child. What a shame you all throw money at her….that’s the stupidity that’s out there. (By the way, give your hard earned money to have her train you-I guarantee you you’ll not get into the shape you were hoping for! I can take any client she has and give them better results.) Throw away your money-the joke will be on you!

    Comment by Gigi | October 10, 2007 | Reply

  17. Thank you kindly Gigi, Sorry about your Injury(ies)
    an I also agree with your philosophy about ‘Workout till U drop’ though I am relagated to do my Aerobics outdoors (treadmill Mess my R. Si Joint and tighten my Piriformis)

    the Herd Mentality of thye bell curve is blinded by Glitz and mistaken trama and intensity to be intimacy and strength

    Asher

    Comment by A. M Sharon | October 27, 2007 | Reply

  18. hello it is test. WinRAR provides the full RAR and ZIP file support, can decompress CAB, GZIP, ACE and other archive formats.

    Comment by xuxppxxuxyyy | December 26, 2008 | Reply

  19. I am three years behind your show. going to go out and buy your dvds so i can catch up to you all. Great show and everyone is unique in their own right. If everyone was the same life would be boring and if everone had a body like you, you’d be out of business. good job

    Comment by helen beavan | July 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

